Meet the Winners of the Prestigious SCI Scholars Summer Internship

ACS has selected 32 undergraduate chemistry and chemical engineering majors to be the 2017 SCI Scholars. The students will participate in a paid internship program developed by the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) to encourage students to consider careers in industry. These exceptional students will have an opportunity to work at prestigious companies where they will gain workplace experience and skills that can benefit them throughout their careers.

The internships vary by location and the type of responsibilities range from writing procedures to developing process recommendations to testing equipment, protocols, and procedures. Students gain valuable insight into industry jobs, including learning how projects get funded, how to collaborate on a professional level, how to manage resources and time, and how to communicate effectively colleagues.

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and demonstrate strong critical thinking skills, personal initiative and perseverance, adaptability, and flexibility.

The SCI Scholars program is administered by ACS and co-sponsored by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.

Congratulations to the 2017 SCI Scholars!

Madeleine Adams
Madeleine Adams, Oregon State University, Corvallis
W. R. Grace & Co.
Robert Allsopp
Robert Allsopp, University of Maryland, College Park
Chemtura Corporation
Collin Bardini
Collin Bardini, American River College
America Air Liquide LLC
Helen Barzyk
Helen Barzyk, University of Notre Dame
Milliken & Company
Patrick Cable
Patrick Cable, University of Maryland, College Park
Michael Carson
Michael Carson, University of California, Irvine
Chemtura Corporation
Paul Chong
Paul Chong, University of California, Los Angeles
Hexion Inc.
Ryan Collanton
Ryan Collanton, University of California, Santa Barbara
Dennis Dautel
Dennis Dauton, Clarkson University, Potsdam
Daniel Drost
Daniel Drost, University of Maryland, College Park
American Air Liquide LLC
Christopher Farrell
Christopher Farrell, University of New Haven
Chemtura Corporation
Tomasz Filipkowski
Tomasz Filipkowski, Stony Brook University, West Campus
American Air Liquide LLC
Rueih-Sheng Fu
Rueih-Sheng Fu, University of California, Berkeley
Dow Chemical Company
Andre Gaona
Andre Gaona, Stanford University
ExxonMobil Chemical Company
Isamar Garrido Rodriguez
Isamar Garrido Rodriguez, City College of New York
Chemtura Corporation
Melanie Geiger
Melanie Geiger, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Honeywell International Corp.
Tao Hong
Tao Hong, City University of New York, Queensborough Community College
Albemarle Corporation
Annie Kandel
Annie Kandel, Bates College
Chemtura Corporation
Zachary Kilwein
Zachary Kilwein, West Virginia University, Evansdale Campus
Westlake Chemical
Nikita Kowal
Nikita Kowal, Arizona State University, Tempe
Carus Corporation
Erik Lee
Erik Lee, Pennsylvania State University, University Park
Chemtura Corporation
Matthew Liu
Matthew Liu, University of California, Berkeley
Chevron Phillips
Vincent Ly
Vincent Ly, Tacoma Community College
Carus Corporation
Venice Magunga
Venice Magunga, University of Rochester
Jose Moros Obregon
Jose Moros Obregon, Northeastern University
ExxonMobil Chemical Company
Nimit Patel
Nimit Patel, University of Maryland, College Park
Chemtura Corporation
Tanner Pfender
Tanner Pfender, University of Maryland, College Park
Chemtura Corporation
Joshua Ross
Joshua Ross, Stevens Institute of Technology
Chemtura Corporation
Clare Tennant
Clare Tennant, University of Notre Dame
Chevron Phillips
Patrick Tuttle
Patrick Tuttle, City College of New York
Dow Chemical Company
Amy Wahlmeier
Amy Wahlmeier, Nebraska Wesleyan University
James Wortman
James Wortman, Michigan State University
Chemtura Corporation